Skip to main content

Pac-12 Women's Basketball Weekly Rundown - March 20, 2024

Mar 20, 2024



>>  The Pac-12 is sending seven teams to the NCAA Tournament, tying the league record for the most teams headed to the Big Dance (set in both the 2016-17 and 2022-23 seasons). 
   >> No. 1 USC, No. 2 Stanford and No. 2 UCLA gives the league three teams seeded one or two, which is a Pac-12-era record. 
   >> At least half of the Pac-12 has earned berths in seven straight NCAA Tournaments, and the 2024 installment marks the 10th consecutive event to feature at least five Pac-12 programs. 
   >> California, Washington and Washington State are among the 32 teams selected to play in the inaugural WBIT, which tips off Thursday, March 21.

>>  Stanford’s Cameron Brink and USC’s JuJu Watkins were named to the Associated Press All-America First Team. Oregon State’s Raegan Beers and Utah’s Alissa Pili earned Third Team recognition, while Colorado’s Jaylyn Sherrod, Stanford’s Kiki Iriafen, and UCLA’s Lauren Betts, Charisma Osborne & Kiki Rice were named Honorable Mention.

>>  The Pac-12 boasts three in the top six of the latest AP Top-25 poll: No. 3 USC, No. 5 Stanford, No. 6 UCLA, No. 12 Oregon State, No. 17 Colorado and No. 21 Utah. 
   >> USC’s No. 3 ranking is its best since 1986. 
   >> The Pac-12 leads all conferences with six ranked teams.

>>  USC won its second Pac-12 Tournament title after defeating top-seeded Stanford, 74-61. The Trojans became the third team to win multiple Pac-12 Tournament crowns (also Oregon and Stanford). 
   >> Trojan McKenzie Forbes was named the Tournament’s Most Outstanding Player, while Oregon State’s Beers, Stanford’s Brink & Iriafen, UCLA’s Osborne and USC’s Watkins were named to the All-Tournament Team.

>>  Stanford’s Brink and USC’s Watkins are semifinalists for the 2024 Jersey Mike’s Naismith Trophy Women’s Player of the Year. Their head coaches, Tara VanDerveer and Lindsay Gottlieb, are among the 10 Werner Ladder Naismith Women’s College Coach of the Year Semifinalists. 
   >> Brink is also a finalist for the 2024 Naismith Women’s Defensive Player of the Year award.


Thursday, March 21 Network Time Talent
No. 11 Arizona vs. No. 11 Auburn* ESPN2 4 p.m. PT / 5 p.m. MT Pam Ward & Christy Winters-Scott
Lamar at No. 1 Washington State^ ESPN+ 6 p.m. PT / 7 p.m. MT Chris King & Stephen Madison
Hawaii at No. 2 California^ ESPN+ 7 p.m. PT / 8 p.m. MT Ben Ross & Theo Robertson
Georgetown at No. 2 Washington^ ESPN+ 7 p.m. PT / 8 p.m. MT A.J. Kanell & Charli Turner Thorne
Friday, March 22
No. 5 Colorado vs. No. 12 Drake* ESPN News 4 p.m. PT / 5 p.m. MT Brenda VanLengen & Holly Warlick
No. 14 Eastern Washington at No. 3 Oregon State* ESPNU 5 p.m. PT / 6 p.m. MT Jason Ross Jr. & Aja Ellison
No. 15 Norfolk State at No. 2 Stanford* ESPN2 7 p.m. PT / 8 p.m. MT Roy Philpott & Brooke Weisbrod
Saturday, March 23
No. 11 Arizona or Auburn vs. No. 6 Syracuse* ESPN2 12:30 p.m. PT / 1:30 p.m. MT Pam Ward & Christy Winters-Scott
No. 16 Texas A&M-Corpus Christi at No. 1 USC* ESPN 1:30 p.m. PT / 2:30 p.m. MT Elise Woodward & Mary Murphy
No. 15 Cal Baptist at No. 2 UCLA* ESPN2 6:30 p.m. PT / 7:30 p.m. MT Kevin Fitzgerald & Kim Adams
No. 5 Utah vs. No. 12 South Dakota State* ESPNU 7 p.m. PT / 8 p.m. MT Ann Schatz & Mike Thibault

NCAA Tournament - Second Round: March 24 & 25 
WBIT - Second Round: March 24 
* NCAA Tournament Game 
^ WBIT Game


Teams Pac-12 Record Overall Record
No. 5 Stanford 15-3 28-5
No. 3 USC 13-5 26-5
No. 6 UCLA 13-5 25-6
No. 12 Oregon State 12-6 24-7
No. 17 Colorado 11-7 22-9
No. 21 Utah 11-7 22-10
Arizona 8-10 17-15
California 7-11 18-14
Washington State 7-11 18-14
Washington 6-12 16-14
Arizona State 3-15 11-20
Oregon 2-16 11-21

2023-24 Pac-12 Women’s Basketball Performance Awards, presented by Nextiva

  Player of the Week Freshman of the Week
Nov. 13 Aaronette Vonleh, COLO JuJu Watkins, USC
Nov. 20 Cameron Brink, STAN JuJu Watkins, USC
Nov. 27 Cameron Brink, STAN JuJu Watkins, USC
Dec. 4 JuJu Watkins, USC JuJu Watkins, USC
Dec. 11 Alissa Pili, UTAH JuJu Watkins, USC
Dec. 18 Kailyn Gilbert, ARIZ Jenna Villa, WSU
Dec. 26 McKenzie Forbes, USC JuJu Watkins, USC
Jan. 2 Jaylyn Sherrod, COLO JuJu Watkins, USC
Jan. 8 Cameron Brink, STAN JuJu Watkins, USC
Jan. 15 Raegan Beers, OSU JuJu Watkins, USC
Jan. 22 Kiki Iriafen, STAN JuJu Watkins, USC
Jan. 29 Cameron Brink, STAN Donovyn Hunter, OSU
Feb. 5 JuJu Watkins, USC JuJu Watkins, USC
Feb. 12 Raegan Beers, OSU JuJu Watkins, USC
Feb. 19 JuJu Watkins, USC JuJu Watkins, USC
Feb. 26 Esmery Martinez, ARIZ Jada Williams, ARIZ
March 4 Cameron Brink, STAN JuJu Watkins, USC