Skip to main content

Pac-12 Conference

The Conference
of Champions

Luck, Hass, Salaam among 2022 College Football Hall of Fame inductees

Dec 6, 2022

Three former student-athletes from Pac-12 schools — Stanford's Andrew Luck, Oregon State's Mike Hass and Colorado's Rashaan Salaam  are being into inducted the College Football Hall of Fame on Tuesday at the 64th annual National Football Foundation dinner in Las Vegas.

To be eligible for the College Football Hall of Fame, student-athletes must have been a First-Team All-American at least once during their careers, be at least 10 seasons removed from collegiate athletics, and have completed their professional careers.

Academics and off-field accomplishments are taken into account too, as the Hall of Fame's website says an inductee must also "have proven himself worthy as a citizen, carrying the ideals of football forward into his relations with his community and fellow man."

The 19th Cardinal to reach the College Football Hall of Fame, Luck was a First Team All-American in 2011 and won every major quarterback award during his Stanford career, revitalizing what had been a struggling program.

Luck led the Cardinal to a 31-7 record, including two top-10 finishes and a trip to the Orange Bowl in 2011, where he was named the game MVP as Stanford captured its program-record 12th win of the season.

Luck is second in Stanford history in career passing yards (9,430) and owns the single-season records for passing yards (3,517), completion percentage (.713) and touchdown passes (37). Among the other countless accolades he received, Luck was a two-time Pac-12 Offensive Player of the Year and Heisman runner-up.

He was selected No. 1 overall by the Indianapolis Colts in the 2012 NFL Draft and made the Pro Bowl in four of the six seasons he played in the NFL.

Hass is the fifth former Beaver to be inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame, but just the third player.

The Beaverton, Oregon native owns the Oregon State record for career receiving yards (3,924) and is second in touchdown catches (20). He was voted the best wide receiver in the country in 2005 when he won the Biletnikoff Award after amassing a program-record 1,532 receiving yards, shattering his previous mark of 1,379 that he logged the prior year.

Hass was a First-Team All-American in both seasons.

Salaam is the ninth Buffalo to reach the College Football Hall of Fame. He is most known for his spectacular 1994 season when he won the Heisman Trophy, Walter Camp and Doak Walker awards after leading the nation in rushing yards (2,055), scoring (144) and all-purpose yards (2,349) despite not playing in the fourth quarter of five games.

At the time, he was one of just four players in NCAA history to rush for 2,000 yards in a season.

The Buffaloes went 11-1 that year, defeating Notre Dame in the Fiesta Bowl to finish ranked No. 3 in the country.

Salaam was selected in the first round of the 1995 NFL Draft by the Chicago Bears and won NFC Rookie of the Year that season. His No. 19 jersey was retired by Colorado in 2017, a year after he died at age 42.