Skip to main content

Pac-12 Conference

The Conference
of Champions

Pac-12 announces 2023 men's soccer postseason awards

Nov 14, 2023
Derrick Tuskan/Kelley L Cox/KLC Fotos

2023 Pac-12 Men's Soccer Player & Offensive Player of the Year - Logan Farrington, Oregon State 
2023 Pac-12 Men's Soccer Defensive Player of the Year - Wyatt Meyer, California 
2023 Pac-12 Men's Soccer Freshman of the Year - Reid Fisher, San Diego State 
2023 Pac-12 Men's Soccer Coach of the Year - Leonard Griffin, California

The Pac-12 Conference announced today the All-Pac-12 honors for the 2023 men’s soccer season, as selected by a polling of Conference head coaches.


One of the nation's top scorers heading into this season, Farrington brought his knack for finding the back of the net to his first season with Oregon State this fall.

After totaling 54 points (20g/14a) in three seasons at Milwaukee, Farrington has taken it up a notch with the Beavers by amassing career highs of 11 goals and 26 points, pacing the Pac-12 in both categories heading into the postseason. He also led the Pac-12 with six goals and 15 points in league play.

He has scored a goal in nine different matches this season, with the NCAA-bound Beavers going 6-1-2 when he scores.

Farrington becomes the third consecutive and fifth all-time Pac-12 Player of the Year from OSU - Danny Mwanga (2009), Khiry Shelton (2014), Sofiane Djeffal (2021) and Joran Gerbet (2022). He's also the first to capture both Pac-12 Player & Offensive Player of the Year since the latter award debuted in 2021.

DEFENSIVE PLAYER OF THE YEAR - Wyatt Meyer, CALIFORNIA (Sr., D/M, Berkeley, Calif.)

Meyer is Cal's first Pac-12 Defensive Player of the Year, an award which debuted in 2014, and the Golden Bears' first major award recipient as selected by the coaches since Seth Casiple was voted Pac-12 Freshman of the Year in 2011.

Alongside fellow First Team All-Pac-12 defender Kevin Carmichael and honorable mention goalkeeper Connor Lambe, Cal tied for second in the Conference in goals-against average in both overall (1.06 GAA) and league contests (1.10 GAA). It marked the Golden Bears' best season-long defensive performance since 2013 (0.97 GAA).

FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR - Reid Fisher, SAN DIEGO STATE (D, Huntington Beach, Calif.)

Fisher is the second consecutive Pac-12 Freshman of the Year from San Diego State, following MLS SuperDraft pick CJ Fodrey's selection in 2022.

Teaming with Second Team All-Pac-12 goalkeeper Logan Erb and fellow honorable mention defender Reid Sproat, Fisher and the Aztecs were the last NCAA Division I team to concede a goal, keeping a clean sheet for more than 650 minutes to begin the season.

He becomes only the third recipient of a major Pac-12 award in San Diego State history, joining Fodrey and 2006 Freshman of the Year Nick Cardenas.


In just his second season on the sideline in Berkeley, Griffin becomes the first Cal coach to earn Conference honors since Kevin Grimes collected his league-record fifth award in 2010.

At 7-6-5, he helped Cal collect its most overall wins and first winning season since 2019.

The first African-American head coach in Pac-12 Men's Soccer history, Griffin is now the first Black man to earn the league's Coach of the Year honor.

Additionally, Griffin's Coach of the Year award comes exactly 20 years after earning First Team All-Pac-12 and All-America honors as a senior at UCLA.

2023 Pac-12 Men's Soccer All-Conference Teams


Name Class Pos. School
Javier Armas Sr. M Oregon State
Fletcher Bank So. M Stanford
Zach Bohane So. M Stanford
Kevin Carmichael Jr. D California
Luis Castillo So. GK Oregon State
Evan Davila Sr. M California
Logan Farrington Sr. F Oregon State
Nate Jones Jr. D Washington
Kalani Kossa-Rienzi Jr. M Washington
Tucker Lepley R-Jr. M UCLA
Wyatt Meyer Sr. D/M California


Name Class Pos. School
Nonso Adimabua Sr. F California
Noah Adnan Sr. D Stanford
Jose Contell R-Jr. F UCLA
Shane de Flores R-So. M Stanford
Logan Erb So. GK San Diego State
Mark Fisher R-Sr. M Stanford
Chris Meyers Jr. M Washington
Jack Sarkos Gr. F UCLA
Tommy Silva Sr. D UCLA
Christian Soto Sr. M Washington
Ellis Spikner Jr. F Oregon State


Name Class Pos. School
Richie Aman So. M Washington
Khai Brisco Sr. D Washington
Arnau Farnos So. M Oregon State
Reid Fisher R-Fr. D San Diego State
Bryan Iliohan Gr. F Washington
Rommee Jaridly So. F San Diego State
Sean Karani Gr. M UCLA
Connor Lambe R-So. GK California
Andre Ochoa Sr. F UCLA
Reid Sproat Sr. D San Diego State
Dante Williams Jr. M Oregon State